Radio Sunnydale: It Was A Hell Of A Battle

I don’t care how lame this makes me, I don’t care how much of a Johnny-come-lately I am, but every time I watch an epic, season finale Buffy battle, I get goosebumps.  NO ONE does epic finale battles like Joss Whedon and crew.

Let me clarify by saying I’m doing a Buffy rewatch at the moment.  Earlier today, I watched Graduation Day Part 2.  Holy hell, I always forget how much I love some of those moments.

All right…I’m going to give spoiler space on the off chance that there’s anyone out there who hasn’t seen this show but wants to.  Just in case.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enough?  No?  *sigh*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Okay.  There are two finale battles that give me the chills.  At least, two that I can think of at the moment.  Graduation Day is one of them.  I wish I could explain it eloquently, but there’s just something about the moment the mayor begins the Ascension; all the parents and teachers panic and run, all the kids stand up and stay put.  They look horrified, but they don’t move.  Buffy yells, “Now!” and all the kids tear off their graduation robes to reveal mass amounts of weaponry, prepared to do battle with this giant lizard/snake demon.  It’s fucking epic.  Seriously, I can’t explain it properly, but there’s something about these teenagers, most of whom never really spoke to each other during the course of school, banding together to save the world.  Through in a really fantastic score and fuckmewow…I can’t stand it.  Watching it today, I’m not ashamed to say I got choked up.  Not ashamed in the slightest.  It’s a moving moment in television history.

The other battle that absolutely does me in is the series finale.  I know that a large part of this is due to the score for this ep (listen to it; it’ll give you chills), but the whole battle…no words.  At least, no words that do it justice.  The carnage, the no holds barred, the blood bath, the struggle, the fucking everything…just epic.  It was proof that nothing was sacred, though in all fairness, Whedon did a pretty good job of making that clear all along (Hello?  Joyce, anyone?).  The build-up to the finale was INTENSE, then the payoff…wow.  I cried the first time I saw it, and I cried the next time I saw it (if you can believe it, this is only the third time I’ve gone through the series, though I’ve seen a few other eps here and there on TV), and I’m pretty sure I’ll cry during this go-round.

But seriously; for TV good enough to give me goosebumps…well, it doesn’t happen a lot.  And seeing as how I watch a fuck-ton of TV, that’s saying something (at present, there has only been one ep of TV EVER to make me both drop my jaw and the remote simultaneously–in fact, the only time I’ve ever gone slack enough to drop my remote and pretty much my entire body, but that’s an entirely different story).  The only other Buffy ep to make me weepy?  The Body.  If you’ve seen it, you know why (at least, if you have a soul, you know), and I won’t go into it here.  But that one…damn.

But, basically…yeah.  Joss Whedon knew his shit.  It’s almost disappointing that I didn’t start watching this show until it’d been over for a year, but at least I didn’t have to wait for new eps.  I was actually very against the show (I’d enjoyed the movie so thoroughly and though the show seemed stupid), but circumstances led me to Buffy one day.  And fuck if I didn’t get sucked in.  Later on, I found out that Whedon actually developed the idea for the movie, but left the set when such drastic changes were made that his story was unrecognizable.  Who knew?

So, Joss Whedon, and the cast and crew of Buffy–I tip my hat to you.  Your show did wonderful things, and I enjoy getting the chills–every time.

~ by raspychick on July 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
