A Brand New Life Around The Bend — Reminscing About Who’s The Boss?

I have no idea where some of these thoughts come from, but I do know that the need to share them with a world full of strangers is overwhelming.

At any rate, I was thinking about the last season of “Who’s the Boss?” this morning, and it brings with it a whole flood of…emotions, I suppose.

What really triggered the nostalgia was a slightly less nostalgic memory of watching the reruns while in college.  I managed to not introduce my roommate and suitemates to this show, but get them hooked (how they had all managed to miss this show the first time around still amazes me).  I don’t recall if we watched from the beginning, but we managed to see a good deal of it, and they were pretty into it by the time season 8 rolled around.

I would call spoiler alert, but the show has been over for just about 20 years.  If you haven’t watched Who’s The Boss? by now, I can’t help you.

Current blog avatar Screaming Into The W…

 

 

Okay, fine…spoiler alert.

 

 

Any fan of the show will remember the final season as when Tony and Angela finally–FINALLY–got together.  Well, officially.  They’d been unofficially attached for waaaaaaay longer, but that’s neither here nor there.  Anyway, Tony & Angela together, then engaged!  Woot!  I remember watching those eps with the roommies, and one of them commented about how she couldn’t wait to see their wedding.

“Oh, honey,” I thought sadly.  “Just wait.”

I remember that being a sad moment actually, because Tony and Angela fell apart so hard in those last couple of episodes, and it KILLED me the first time around.  And here was this girl, innocently awaiting these epic nuptials, and I wasn’t going to spoil it for her.  I wanted her to have that dream, the same dream I’d had almost ten years before.

I make no secret about the fact that I’ve been a TV junkie for a very long time, even though I was pretty active as a kid.  But when you grow up without a lot in the way of friends, the people in the magic box become some sort of friends; they’re people you can count on from week to week.  So yes…I became invested in the lives of my pretend friends.

However, I remember very clearly seeing the commercials for the season 8 premier of WTB and, even though I was all of ten years old, I was wicked stoked.  I hadn’t watched the show religiously at first (though, in all fairness, I was kind of a baby when the show started), but I do remember watching it frequently while growing up.  Basically, these were people I had known as long as I knew my family.  But, knowing it was all about to happen for Tony & Angela made my little ten year old heart pitter-patter.  I anxiously followed their journey that last season, waiting for the pay off and…

Kicked in the teeth is probably the only apt way to put it.  Even all these years later, I’m very dissatisfied with how it all ended.  I feel gypped.  And I still want a TV movie.  I want a follow up and I want proper closure.  Tony & Angela breaking up only to have Tony come back to be her housekeeper so she could answer the door in the same get-up as she did in the first ep…not good enough.

I know I can’t be alone in this.

Plus, it really irritates me that Sony Pictures has only released the first season on DVD.  I want more “Who’s The Boss?”!  They tried to float some line about it not being popular enough to spend the money to produce the DVDs, but the show’s been in syndication regularly for over 20 years.  People still care about this show; we want the rest of the series on DVD.

Anyone have an in with Sony?  Pass along this request.

Ah, nostalgia.

On an unrelated note, I got my first angry review!  Ironically, being that it was so angry, it told me to chill the fuck out.  I LOVE it!

~ by raspychick on April 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
