But I Almost Never Play Tennis…

The other day at work, I was wearing these shoes:

Don't hate.

 

Awesome, right?  I realize that I’m a badass when it comes to my shoe choices.  Don’t be jealous.

Anyway, I was sitting there minding my own business, and Patty commented on how crazy my “tennis shoes” were.

Can you imagine playing tennis in those shoes?

At any rate, it got me thinking about how much I hate when people call sneakers “tennis shoes.”  Where did this term come from?  Why would you refer to everything as a tennis shoe?  Unless they are the shoes in which you actually play tennis, they’re basically just shoes.  Or sneakers.  Now, I’m not sure where “sneakers” came from, but it strikes me as a touch more generic than “tennis shoes.”

Why not call them all “running shoes,” or “basketball shoes,” or “volleyball shoes?”  Why tennis?  I realize this is a minor thing in the grand scheme of things, but it’s still a pet peeve of mine.

But it reminds me of an even bigger pet peeve; people who call All Stars “Chuck Taylors” or “Chucks.”  Oh my fucking god does that piss me off.  Until I was in college, I never even knew the name “Chuck Taylor” was on the damn shoe, never mind hear anyone refer to them as such.  They’re All Stars.  Look at the damn logo, for starters; it’s big ass star in the middle of a white circle that says “Converse” at the top and “All Stars” at the bottom.

Here–look at it.

All Star BIG. Chuck Taylor small.

 

They were designed in 1917 and called All Stars.  A few years after the fact, in 1921, Chuck Taylor joined a basketball team called The Converse All Stars and helped to sell and push the shoes.  He made a few modifications to the shoes and in 1923, Converse decided to add his name to the logo.

But, you might argue, they’ve had his name on the damn things for almost 90 years; shouldn’t you just accept that people call them “Chucks?”  Fuck you.  They’re god damn All Stars and that’s all there is to it.  If Converse really wanted a shoe called “Chucks” they would’ve made a new shoe.

All Stars, god damn it.

~ by raspychick on January 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
